mohdazhar

The Finger Length Test

Posted in Odd by azhar1990 on October 27, 2009

I chanced upon an advertisement by Match.com as I was checking my e-mail. The dating website offers singles a personality test by checking on the length of their fingers. I remembered hearing about such tests before and curiosity soon got the better of me.

And so I google-d on ‘length of fingers personality’ and found out there was indeed a study done to prove (or rather attempt to show) that there is a correlation between the length of your fingers and your personality which includes your future academic success and even your sexual orientation.

According to the research, heterosexual men should have longer ring than index fingers. I did the exact same test for myself and found out that … my result differs for both hands! LOL. My ring finger is significantly longer than my index finger on my left hand. However, the length of my index and ring fingers on my right hand are almost the same, this time the index slightly longer than the ring finger. So what does that make me? 90% straight and 10% gay? HAHA.

Whatever it is, I did make a conclusion of the study – it’s weak and unconvincing. Researchers conducted the test with a mere 720 subjects. In my opinion, the number is far too low and therefore the result should not be used as an overall representation to all males and females in this world.

Another interesting fact I came across from the study is that one of its researchers, Marc Breedlove from the University of California at Berkeley, conceeded that there is actually no difference in the ring-to-index finger ratios for men. And as if desperate to prove his team’s earlier results, he then claimed that the more older brothers men have, the more likely they will turn gay in adulthood. So is my older brother at fault for my sligthly shorter ring ringer on my right hand now?

To me, if one needs to find out if he is straight or otherwise, he should just ask himself which sex he is attracted to. Sexual orientation directly means the sex you are attracted to. The last thing I want is a child who finds out he has longer index fingers on both hands and start believing he is a homosexual. Nope, not a good thing at all. There are other influencing factors out there such as the environment around him.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wes said, on October 27, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    lousy survey……my fingers same as yours too

    • azhar1990 said, on October 27, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      and millions more too…

  2. drlee said, on July 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I find your writing by searching for finger length and personality. Same as you, I came across this with the match.com’s add. I totally agree with you, it is not convencing. If for fun, it is ok. But especially, for children, it is not a good idea to know about this. There is a self hinting process.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

